Wednesday, 21 January 2009

Telford & Wrekin Branch AGM

The AGM of the Telford & Wrekin Branch last night was an interesting one.

As well as members of Telford & Wrekin branch, Mike Nattrass MEP, Nikki Sinclaire (prospective MEP), Malcolm Hurst (PPC), Derek Bennett (West Midlands Regional Organiser) and Roy Wood (Stafford Branch Chairman) came along to lend their support and welcome our newest member, Councillor Denis Allen.

Denis (who was, until recently, Chairman of Wrekin Conservative Association) addressed the branch on why he had decided to leave the Tories and join UKIP instead, on the duplicity of the Tories and the big con on their supposedly eurosceptic credentials. In the time-honoured tradition of our branch, Denis was thrown in at the deep end and elected as Chairman!

One ever-generous member volunteered to pay for twelve (expensive) billboards for the election campaign in the West Midlands which Mike Nattrass said he will match fund out of his own pocket. The branch also agreed to fund one out of branch funds which Mike Nattrass will also match, which means Telford & Wrekin branch has secured 26 billboards for the election campaign. The bar has been set for other branches now, Mike will match-fund whatever is pledged for billboards - drop him a line for more details.


JoshONyons said...

Well done Telford , Nice to see Mike putting his money where others mouths are !